Creating Memories

Creating Memories

Amazing where we go, what we do and see in a year.
If I wrote down where I was, my dreams, my prediction of where I’d be in a year… as well as my latest obsessions, music trends, friends and favorite foods,
I can almost guarantee it’s nowhere NEAR where I am, what I like, etc of today.
Yet I’d have a hard time remembering more than a couple hours of stories of and ENTIRE year of what I did and accomplished.
The memories that I have that I am reminded of once and a while are ones that were emotion filled, real, exciting, sad, mad…
Something different, something new, something blue.
One in particular, I remember very very clearly of when I was in an accident this summer. I remember the smoke, the people, the place the feelings, the extreme sadness my car was no longer in the same condition or drivable.
Then I remember being grateful that I was still alive, and so was everyone else involved.
Was that a great time in my life? At the time, NO
Looking back? Well… I think of it as bittersweet.

If I hadn’t gotten into that accident, and lost my beautiful car, I would have really been stressed about money now, and also I wouldn’t of been able to appreciate all that I have now either.
I always used to think of creating memories as a good thing, like they had to be GOOD memories.
But I will take any memory I have, without them I will not remember the lessons, the people, good or bad.
And the good ones to remind me that you get a little of both worlds in this life.
I’m gonna make memories, and I’m excited to know that if it’s a rough day, I get to look back on it and ponder why.
If it’s good, I’ll have a great story to look back on in the future.

2 thoughts on “Creating Memories

  1. so true Tracey, From the moment the Lord wakes us up and we take the first breath of morning we are making choices, and each choice has a good/bad/happy/sad/safe/not-so-safe consequence. Our choices make our memories and from them we rejoice/feel embarrassed/get angry/feel sad/ etc and if we are smart, (as you are) we look at ALL of them, not just the good, and not just the bad and we learn from them. The coolest thing I have learned with my many choices so far, regardless if it was a good choice or a bad one (seems that age doesn’t matter we still make choices that we hit our heads later and say “really??”) God loves us through each one. Every good choice and every dumb one, He is there cheering us on and loving us as no other can…knowing that gives me the courage to pick my self back up, dust off, pull up my big girl panties and take another tiny step forward! love you and congrats on the job kid!

  2. Jeremiah 29:11-14
    For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the Lord. “I will end your captivity and restore your fortunes. I will gather you out of the nations where I sent you and will bring you home again to your own land.”

Leave a Reply

